Why This Year is Called Year of the Pig ?


The Pig is one of the 12 animal signs in the lunar zodiac. The rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, and dog are the others.

Each new year in the lunar calendar is named after one of these creatures, following a 12-year cycle, with each said to possess the characteristic particular to the animal for which it was named.

This year - 2007 - is the Pig's turn. The year of the Pig is said to be a very unusual one. According to some unofficial sources, this year could be described as "Nice weather everywhere, but there may be some fightings between humans". (~_^)

Chinese Calligraphy

dogy Back to the Main Page